Italian “Oven Eggs”

This morning I wanted to try something new.  I’ve seen these baked egg recipes here and there, but have always ended up opting for something else.  The combo of eggs and tomato sauce just didn’t sound all that exciting to me.  But today – I have all the ingredients and have decided to give it a go.

And I’m so glad I did…  This. is. soooo. stinking. good.  Like – so good.

“Oven Eggs” or “Baked Eggs”, come to find out, are the most simple way to prepare an egg.  Just crack the egg and toss it in the oven. Literally.

Ingredients n’ thangs:

  • Tomato Sauce
  • Eggs
  • Grated Cheese (any kind you like)
  • Grated Parmesan Cheese
  • Pesto
  • Milk
  • Fresh Basil
  • Salt and Pepper

Pre-heat the oven to 425 degrees.

I used a mini All-Clad ramekin since I was cooking for just myself, but you can use any oven safe dish of any size in order to feed just yourself or a whole house full of guests.

Depending on what you’re cooking in, you may want to use some non-stick cooking spray.

First, line the bottom of the ramekin with the tomato sauce – enough to cover the floor of the ramekin. Any sauce will do, but I like to use RAO’s Homemade Tomato Basil Marinara Sauce. It’s delicious and all natural – made right in New York, NY. You can buy it at raos.com if your local grocer doesn’t carry it.

DSC_0659

Next, crack two eggs on top of tomato sauce and add a splash of milk. Sprinkle salt and pepper to taste. Add pesto in small dabs across the surface and then top with both of the grated cheeses.

DSC_0662

Place in the the oven until whites of the eggs are cooked – approximately 10 minutes. If you like your eggs cooked all the way through leave for longer or finish under the broiler. Add fresh chopped basil to finish.

DSC_0056

DSC_0673

DSC_0059

Oh!  And don’t forget to serve this up with a toasted english muffin (or ‘smuffin as I like to call them) to dip into all of that goodness.

Wasn’t that SO easy?! And so, so tasty?!

*** A word to the wise ***  My husband has declined my offer to try this delicious egg concoction on multiple occasions. Don’t do this.  Try it!  Trust.  It’s really dang delicious!

Follow me on Instagram @mymorningbite to see more

One thought on “Italian “Oven Eggs”

  1. This looks so good! I’m going to try it once by the recipe then I’m going to put some sausage in the second run. Tasty.

    Like

Leave a Reply

